Resolution 2015-16.P Resolution to Modify the Membership of the University Curriculum Committee for General Education (UCCGE)

Recommended by the Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies First Reading by CUSP: April 25, 2016 Second Reading by CUSP:

Approved by University Council: Approved by the President:

Effective: Fall 2016

**WHEREAS,** the university is committed to advancing issues of diversity and inclusion throughout all facets of campus through the InclusiveVT initiative; and

**WHEREAS,** the Pathways General Education Curriculum, which impacts every student on campus, is structured around the principle of inclusivity and includes outcomes and indicators related to diversity and inclusion; and

**WHEREAS,** the curriculum committee charged with support for and oversight of the general education curriculum should include a representative with specific expertise in issues of diversity and inclusion in the undergraduate curriculum and classroom;

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Bylaws of the University Council be changed to reflect the addition of a representative from the Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity as a voting member of the University Curriculum Committee for General Education, effective Fall 2016, and the proposal forwarded to the President for approval:

O. University Curriculum Committee for General Education <u>Membership\*</u>:

- The Executive Vice President and Provost or designee
- Assistant Provost for Assessment and Evaluation
- One Division of Student Affairs representative selected by the VP for Student Affairs (threeyear term)
- Two faculty members selected by the Executive Vice President and Provost (three-year term)
- One faculty representative selected by each undergraduate college (7) curriculum committee (three-year term)
- One faculty representative from University Studies (three-year term)
- Two faculty representatives nominated by Faculty Senate (three-year term)
- One faculty representative from the Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies selected annually by the Commission (one-year term)
- Two representatives from the Student Government Association nominated by SGA (one-year term)
- One AP faculty member from University Libraries elected by the Library Faculty Association (three-year term)
- One faculty representative from the Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity selected annually by the Commission (one-year term)

\* Chairperson: Faculty member of the committee, elected by the committee and having previously served as vice-chair or co-chair of the committee